Board of Supervisors

1195 Third St. Suite 310 Napa, CA 94559 www.countyofnapa.org

Main: (707) 253-4421 Fax: (707) 253-4176

> Diane Dillon Chair



A Tradition of Stewardship A Commitment to Service

September 14, 2010 SENT VIA FAX: (916) 558-3177

The Honorable Arnold Schwarzenegger Governor of California State Capitol Building Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: AB 1343 (Huffman) Paint Product Stewardship - SUPPORT

Dear Governor Schwarzenegger:

Napa County urges your support of AB 1343, which would establish a producer managed postconsumer paint recovery program. Paint is the single largest waste stream managed by local government household hazardous waste (HHW) programs, costing California residents approximately \$27 million dollars annually to manage. In 2009 the cost to manage waste paint at the Napa Vallejo Waste Management Facility was **\$77,000**. There is no earmarked funding source for managing this waste stream that continues to increase each year.

By creating a manufacturer run program, **AB 1343 can help save local governments and taxpayers millions of dollars.** Specifically, AB 1343 requires architectural paint manufacturers to develop and implement a stewardship plan to reduce the generation of postconsumer paint, promote the reuse, and manage the end-of-life of postconsumer paint in an environmentally sound manner. **California paint recyclers and manufacturers also support AB** 1343 and we look forward to working with all the parties to successfully implement the program.

Local governments have shouldered 100% of the responsibility for managing leftover paint for too long. Napa County strongly urges your signature of AB 1343.

Sincerely,

Diane Dillon Chair, Napa County Board of Supervisors

cc: Assembly Speaker John Perez Fax: (916) 319-2192
Senator Pat Wiggins
Assemblywoman Noreen Evans
Paul Yoder, Peterson Consulting
Steve Lederer, Director, Napa County Environmental Management
Members, Napa County Board of Supervisors

Brad Wagenknecht District 1 Diane Dillon District 3 Bill Dodd District 4 Keith Caldwell District 5