## **California State Association of Counties®**



OFFICERS

President James Gore Sonoma County

**1st Vice President** Ed Valenzuela Siskiyou County

2nd Vice President Chuck Washington Riverside County

**Past President** Lisa A. Bartlett Orange County

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Graham Knaus January 6, 2021

The Honorable Cecilia Aguiar-Curry California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 5144 Sacramento, California 95814

Re: AB 14 (Aguiar-Curry) – Communications: broadband services: California Advanced Services Fund. Support – As Introduced December 7, 2020

Dear Assembly Member Aguiar-Curry:

On behalf of the California State Association of Counties (CSAC), representing all 58 counties in the state, I am pleased to support your AB 14, related to broadband and the infrastructure subsidies needed to deploy it more broadly.

Inequitable access to broadband is a longstanding issue, but the COVID-19 pandemic's effects on students, workers, small businesses, and everyday life has highlighted just how severe and urgent the disparity is. Bringing our infrastructure into the modern era is critical for all communities, whether or not providers consider them profitable.

Addressing these issues will undoubtedly require additional resources to be available as soon as possible, so the additional funding AB 14 would authorize—as well as the authority to issue a revenue bond of up to \$1 billion—is critically important. Counties also appreciate the explicit authority for Boards of Supervisors to approve the construction and operation of broadband infrastructure and services.

For the aforementioned reasons, we support AB 14 and appreciate your efforts on this important issue. We would like to work with you and your co-authors as this bill moves forward to ensure it contains the reforms necessary to achieve the greatest good for the greatest number of Californians.

Should you have any questions, please contact me at gneill@counties.org. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Geoff Neill Legislative Representative

Cc: Assembly Member Richard Bloom Assembly Member Rob Bonta

Assembly Member Cristina Garcia Assembly Member Eduardo Garcia Assembly Member Evan Low Assembly Member Cottie Petrie-Norris Assembly Member Bill Quirk Assembly Member Sharon Quirk-Silva Assembly Member Eloise Gómez Reyes Assembly Member Robert Rivas Assembly Member Miguel Santiago Assembly Member Mark Stone Assembly Member Shirley Weber Assembly Member Rebecca Bauer-Kahan Assembly Member Wendy Carillo Assembly Member Jacqui Irwin Assembly Member Autumn Burke Assembly Member Al Muratsuchi Assembly Member Blanca Rubio Assembly Member Buffy Wicks Assembly Member Jim Wood Senator Susan Talamantes Eggman Senator Lena Gonzalez Senator Monique Limón Senator Mike McGuire